How to get a Texas Learners Permit
- Texas Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
TX Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your TX driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Texas Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under Texas drivers license guidelines, you must be at least 15 years old to apply for a Learners Permit. All applicants are required pass a written exam and a vision test in order to obtain the permit. You then must hold the learners permit for 6 months from the issue date, be at least 16 years old and have completed an approved driver education course prior to applying for a driver license.
Prepare for the Written Test
The Texas DPS requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Texas practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Learners Permit
Before you head to the Texas DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your learners permit:
- Identification and Proof of Age
- Proof of Social Security Number
- Proof of residence address
- Parental Authorization Signature (parent must be present to sign.)
- Payment for application fee
- NOTE: Driver Education certificate may be required.
On the Road
During the learners permit phase, the licensee must complete 20 hours of driving time, 10 of which should be done at night to be eligible for a probationary license.
Before applying for a provisional license, the driver must be at least 16 years old. The nighttime restriction for a provisional license is not being allowed to drive between the hours of midnight to 5 AM. The licensee cannot have more than one passenger under the age of 21.
Nighttime driving and passenger restrictions are to be lifted when the licensee reaches the age of 17.