How to get a Texas Drivers License
- Texas Driver's License Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
TX Drivers License Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your drivers license, pass your DMV written test, replace your out-of-state license and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Texas Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
Get your TX Driver's Permit
You must be at least 16 years of age to apply for a Texas Drivers License.
If this is your first driver's license, you will need to apply for a Texas learners permit which requires a vision test and a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques.
Once you receive a valid learners permit, you will then need to pass a road skills test to receive a TX drivers license.
Applicants under 18 must have held a learners permit for 6 months and provide proof that you have successfully completed an approved driver education course before taking the road skills test.
Applicants between the ages of 18 and 24 must provide proof of Adult Driver Education.
Prepare for the Written Knowledge Test
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Texas practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
New Texas Residents
New residents over 18 moving into Texas, who have a valid driver license from their home state, have 90 days after entry into the state to secure a Texas driver license. When heading to the DMV, be sure to bring the license from your former state as you will be required to surrender it in order to obtain the new license.
The written exam and road skills test are not required to change a valid out-of-state license to a TX driver's license, however you will need to pass a vision test.
If you are under age 18, you must pass the mandatory driving test. If your out-of-state driver's license is expired, you will be required to pass both the written and driving exams, in addition to a vision test.
International visitors with a valid license from their home country may drive in Texas for up to one year. Drivers wishing apply for a Texas driver's license who have a valid license from France, Canada, or Germany will have their written and driving skills exams waived. Drivers from any other country other than France, Canada, or Germany will have to pass the written and driving skills exam to convert to a Texas license. All applicants must pass a vision exam.
Before you head to the Texas DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your driver's license:
On the Road
Once your licensing requirements have been met, you will receive your new:
- Restricted License (16 to 17 years of age) expires on 18th birthday.
- Full driver's license (18 and older) valid for 6 years.
Remember... the safe operation of a vehicle requires practiced skill, knowledge, and a respectful understanding of the limitations imposed by the other drivers and the environment.