How to get a New Jersey Learners Permit
- New Jersey Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
NJ Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your NJ driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the New Jersey Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under New Jersey drivers license guidelines, you must be 16 years old to receive your learners permit. The required holding period for a learner's permit is 6 months. The new driver's vehicle must have a reflector decal on both front and back license plate. Only one passenger is allowed unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.
All applicants are required pass a written exam and vision test in order to obtain the permit.
Prepare for the Written Test
The New Jersey DMV requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the New Jersey practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Instruction Permit
Before you head to the New Jersey MVC Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your instruction permit:
- Proof of enrollment in a driver training course
- Signed letter with parental or guardian consent
- All Identification documents required by the 6 Point ID Verification Program
On the Road
When you first receive your New Jersey learners permit, you are allowed to practice supervised driving. You must have at least six months of supervised practice before you can apply for your probationary license. Restrictions include no driving between 11:01 p.m. and 5 a.m. and you cannot use any wireless device while operating the vehicle. In order to get a basic driver's license in New Jersey, the licensee must be at least 18 years old and must have completed the 1 year unsupervised driving period.