How to get a New Jersey Driver's License
- New Jersey Driver's License Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
NJ Driver's License Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your drivers license, pass your DMV written test, replace your out-of-state license and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the New Jersey Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
Get your NJ Driver's Permit
You must be 18 years old to obtain a New Jersey driver's license. A probationary license is issued at 17.
If this is your first driver's license, you will need to apply for a New Jersey learners permit which is part of the graduated licensing program and requires a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques.
Once you receive a valid learners permit, you will then need to pass a road skills test and vision tests to receive a NJ drivers license.
Applicants under 21 must have held a student learners permit or an examination permit for at least 6 months before taking the road skills test.
Prepare for the Written Knowledge Test
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the New Jersey practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
New New Jersey Residents
If you have recently moved to New Jersey, you are required to transfer your out-of-state license within 60 days of permanent New Jersey residency or before your current license expires. Your license cannot be transferred to a New Jersey license if you are under 18 years old. Instead, you must complete the Graduated Driver License (GDL) program requirements.
When heading to the DMV, be sure to bring the license from your former state as you will be required to surrender it in order to obtain the new license.
There is no written exam or road skills testing required to change a valid non-provisional out-of-state license to a NJ driver's license, however you will need to pass the vision test.
If your out-of-state license is expired, you will have to take a written test and possibly a skills test.
If you are not a U.S. citizen and have recently moved to New Jersey, you must have temporary visa status to apply for a New Jersey driver license. You will be required to take a vision test, knowledge test and possibly a road test if required.
You must also provide proof by the U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service, authorizing your presence in the country. In order to obtain the permit, you will need to bring your foreign license and present the documents required to pass the 6 Point ID verification. If you are under 18 years old, you are subject to GDL Program requirements.
Before you head to the New Jersey DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your driver's license:
Once your licensing requirements have been met, you will receive your new:
- Restricted License (17 to 20 years of age) valid for 2 years.
- Full driver's license (21 and older) valid for 4 years.
Remember... the safe operation of a vehicle requires practiced skill, knowledge, and a respectful understanding of the limitations imposed by the other drivers and the environment.