How to get a New Hampshire Learners Permit
- New Hampshire Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
NH Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your NH driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the New Hampshire Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under New Hampshire law, a learner's permit is not needed. If you are at least 15 years and 6 months old, you may begin to practice driving as long as you carry proof of age, and are accompanied in the front seat by a parent, legal guardian, or other licensed adult who is 25 years of age or older.
Before you can apply for a learners permit (Youth Operator's License), you must complete an approved driver education program and certify that you have completed at least 20 hours of supervised driving, in addition to the 10 hours required by the driver education course.
Prepare for the Written Test
To get a Youth Operator's License, the New Hampshire DMV requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the New Hampshire practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Learners Permit
Before you head to the New Hampshire DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your learners permit:
- Proof of identity
- Written permission of a parent or guardian
- Certified completion of a driver's education course
On the Road
During the learners permit phase, a new driver must complete 40 hours of supervised behind the wheel practice before applying for a junior's operators license.
Before applying for a junior license, the driver must be at least 16 years old. The nighttime restriction for a junior license is not being allowed to drive between the hours of 1 AM to 5 AM. For the first 6 months, the licensee isn't allowed to have more than 1 passenger under the age of 25. In order to get full driving privileges in New Hampshire for removing nighttime driving restrictions, the applicant must be at least 17 years and 1 month old. The minimum age for removing passenger restrictions is 16 years and 6 months.