How to get a New Hampshire Driver's License
- New Hampshire Driver's License Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
NH Driver's License Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your drivers license, pass your DMV written test, replace your out-of-state license and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the New Hampshire Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
Get your NH Driver's Permit
Applicants under the age of 18 must show proof of completion of an approved driver education program and must complete 20 hours of supervised driving, in addition to the 10 hours required by the driver education course. The 20 hours must be logged and supervised by a parent, or legal guardian, or if there is no parent or legal guardian, a licensed adult over the age of 25.
You must then pass a vision test, written exam, and a road test to obtain a Youth Operator License.
Prepare for the Written Knowledge Test
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your Youth Operators License as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the New Hampshire practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
New New Hampshire Residents
New residents with an out-of-state license must obtain a New Hampshire driver's within 60 days of establishing a permanent residence in NH. When heading to the DMV, be sure to bring the license from your former state as you will be required to surrender it in order to obtain the new license.
There is no written exam or road skills testing required to change a valid out-of-state license to an NH driver's license, however you will need to pass the vision test.
If your out-of-state license is expired, you will have to take a written test and possibly a skills test.
New Hampshire honors a valid foreign driver's license with an international driving permit. After becoming a resident of the State, you'll be required to convert to a New Hampshire license and pass the full - written and road - test plus the eye test.
Before you head to the New Hampshire DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your driver's license:
Once your licensing requirements have been met, you will receive your new:
- Youth Operator License (16 to 20 years of age) expires on the 21st birthday.
- Full driver's license (21 and older) valid for 4 years.
Remember... the safe operation of a vehicle requires practiced skill, knowledge, and a respectful understanding of the limitations imposed by the other drivers and the environment.