How to get a Nevada Learners Permit
- Nevada Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Test
- Required ID and Paperwork
NV Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your NV driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Nevada Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under Nevada DMV guidelines, you must be 15 ½ to apply for a Learners Permit. All applicants are required pass a written exam and vision test in order to obtain the permit. Before applying for a regular operator's license, you must:
- Practice driving on your learner's permit for at least six months
- Reach the age of 16
- Complete a classroom or online driver safety course
- Log 50 hours (10 at night) of supervised driving experience (100 hours if you do not complete a driver safety course)
Prepare for the Written Test
The Nevada DMV requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Nevada practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Instruction Permit
Before you head to the Nevada DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your instruction permit:
- Proof of Identity (Name and Date of Birth) and Social Security Number if a number has been issued for you
- Parent/guardian signature in the financial responsibility section on the application
- Completed Beginning Driver Experience Log (DLD-130)
- Payment for application fee
On the Road
During the learner's permit phase, the licensee must complete 50 hours of driving time, 10 of which should be for nighttime driving.
Before applying for an intermediate license, the driver must be at least 16 years old. The nighttime restriction for an intermediate license is not being allowed to drive between the hours of 10 PM to 5 AM. For the first 6 months, the licensee isn't allowed to have passengers under the age of 18.