How to get a Nevada Driver's License
- Nevada Driver's License Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
NV Drivers License Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your drivers license, pass your DMV written test, replace your out-of-state license and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Nevada Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
Get your NV Driver's Permit
If this is your first driver's license, you will need to apply for a Nevada learners permit which requires a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques.
Once you receive a valid learners permit, you will then need to pass a road skills test and vision test to receive an NV drivers license.
You must be 16 years old and have held your learner's permit for a minimum of six months before applying for a regular license. Before taking the road skills test, applicants under the age of 18 have three options:
- Attend a classroom course and complete 50 hours of behind-the-wheel experience; or
- Complete an online course and 50 hours of behind-the-wheel experience; or
- Complete 100 hours of driving experience. This option applies only if a classroom course is not offered within a 30-mile radius of your residence and you do not wish to complete a course online.
Prepare for the Written Knowledge Test
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Nevada practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
New Nevada Residents
New residents with an out-of-state license must obtain a Nevada driver's license within 30 days upon establishing a permanent residence in NV. When heading to the DMV, be sure to bring the license from your former state as you will be required to surrender it in order to obtain the new license.
There is no written exam or road skills testing required to change a valid out-of-state license to an NV driver's license, however you will need to pass the vision test.
If your prior U.S. license has been expired, suspended or revoked for more than one year, you must take all three tests - vision, knowledge and skills.
Foreign nationals temporarily in the U.S. may drive in Nevada for one year if they have a valid license from their home country accompanied by an International Driver's License.
If you have never been licensed in the U.S., you must take all three tests - vision, knowledge and skills.
Before you head to the Nevada DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your driver's license:
Once your licensing requirements have been met, you will receive your new:
- Restricted License (16 and 17 years of age) valid for 4 years.
- Full driver's license (18 and older) valid for 4 years.
Remember... the safe operation of a vehicle requires practiced skill, knowledge, and a respectful understanding of the limitations imposed by the other drivers and the environment.