How to get a Nebraska Learners Permit
- Nebraska Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
NE Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your NE driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Nebraska Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under Nebraska DMV guidelines, you must be 15 years old to apply for a Learners Permit. The required holding period for a learner's permit is 6 months.
All applicants are required pass a written exam and a vision test in order to obtain the permit. You then must hold the learners permit for one year and log 50 hours of supervised driving time (or pass an approved driver safety course) prior to applying for a provisional drivers license.
Prepare for the Written Test
The Nebraska DMV requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Nebraska practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Learners Permit
Before you head to the Nebraska DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your learners permit:
- Identification and Proof of Age
- Proof of Social Security Number
- Proof of residence address
- Parental Consent
On the Road
During the learner's permit phase, the licensee must complete 50 hours of driving time, 10 of which should be done at night to be eligible for a provisional operator's permit. (None required if the licensee has taken driver education). With a learner's permit you must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old.
Before applying for a provisional operator's permit, the driver must be at least 16 years old. The nighttime restriction for an intermediate license is not being allowed to drive between the hours of midnight to 6 AM. (Secondary enforcement) For the first 6 months, the licensee isn't allowed to have no more than one passenger under the age of 19. Nighttime driving restrictions are to be lifted when the licensee reaches the age of 17. Passenger restrictions are lifted at the age of 17 years and 11 months.