How to get a Nebraska Driver's License
- Nebraska Driver's License Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
NE Driver's License Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your drivers license, pass your DMV written test, replace your out-of-state license and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Nebraska Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
Get your NE Driver's Permit
You must be 17 years old to obtain a Nebraska driver's license. A provisional operator's permit is granted to drivers at 16.
If this is your first driver's license, you will need to apply for a Nebraska learners permit which requires a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques.
Once you receive a valid learners permit, you will then need to pass a road skills test and vision test to receive a NE drivers license.
Applicants under 18 must have held a learners permit for 6 months, complete a DMV approved driver safety course and log 50 hours of supervised driving time before taking the road skills test.
Prepare for the Written Knowledge Test
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Nebraska practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
New Nebraska Residents
New residents with an out-of-state license must obtain a Nebraska driver's within 30 days of establishing a permanent residence in NE. When heading to the DMV, be sure to bring the license from your former state as you will be required to surrender it in order to obtain the new license.
You may be required to pass written and driving tests, in addition to a vision test. However, driver examiners may, at their discretion, waive the written and driving tests for individuals who have in their possession a valid license issued by another state.
In Nebraska, when the customer takes full time employment or declares residency after 30 days they are required to obtain a Nebraska driver's license. The written test, drive test, vision test are required, and the customer may retain their countries' license as well as possess the Nebraska license.
Before you head to the Nebraska DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your driver's license:
Once your licensing requirements have been met, you will receive your new:
- Intermediate Driver's License (16 years of age).
- Full driver's license (17 and older).
Remember... the safe operation of a vehicle requires practiced skill, knowledge, and a respectful understanding of the limitations imposed by the other drivers and the environment.