How to get a Missouri Learners Permit
- Missouri Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
MO Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your MO driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Missouri Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under Missouri DMV guidelines, you must be 15 years old to receive your learners permit. The required holding period for a learner's permit is 6 months before you can apply for your intermediate driver's license.
Prepare for the Written Test
The Missouri DMV requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Missouri practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Instruction Permit
Before you head to the Missouri driver's license office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your instruction permit:
- Identification and Proof of Age
- Proof of Social Security Number
- Proof of residence address
- Parental Consent
- Payment for application fee
On the Road
During the learner's permit phase, the licensee must complete 40 hours of driving time, 10 of which should be done at night.
Before applying for an intermediate driver's license, the driver must be at least 16 years old. The nighttime restriction for an intermediate driver's license is not being allowed to drive between the hours of 1 AM to 5 AM. For the first 6 months, the licensee is not allowed to have more than one passenger under the age of 19. For the second 6 months, the licensee is not allowed to have more than 3 passengers under the age of 19.
In order to get full driving privileges in Missouri for removing nighttime driving and passenger restrictions, the applicant must be at least 17 years and 11 months old.