How to get a Missouri Driver's License
- Missouri Driver's License Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
MO Driver's License Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your drivers license, pass your DMV written test, replace your out-of-state license and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Missouri Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
Get your MO Driver's Permit
If this is your first driver's license, you will need to apply for a Missouri learner's permit which requires a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques.
Once you receive a valid learners permit, you will then need to pass a road skills test and vision test to receive a MO drivers license.
Applicants under 18 must have held a learners permit for at least 182 days and log 40 hours (10 at night) of supervised driving time before taking the road skills test.
Prepare for the Written Knowledge Test
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Missouri practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
New Missouri Residents
New residents with an out-of-state license must obtain a Missouri driver's license upon establishing a permanent residence in MO.
If you are new to Missouri and are transferring your out-of-state driver license, you will need to show verification of name, date of birth, place of birth, social security number and Missouri residential address. You will also surrender the license from your previous state of residence, and take the vision and road sign tests.
You will be required to take a written test on traffic laws and rules for safe driving and a driving (skills) test if:
- Your out-of-state license is expired for more than 6 months (184 days)
- The Director of Revenue asks you to take the exam, even if you have a current driver license.
Before you head to the Missouri DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your driver's license:
On the Road
Once your licensing requirements have been met, you will receive your new:
- Intermediate Driver's License (16 to 18 years of age) valid for 2 years.
- Full driver's license (18 to 20 years of age) valid for 3 years.
- Full driver's license (21 and older) valid for 6 years.
Remember... the safe operation of a vehicle requires practiced skill, knowledge, and a respectful understanding of the limitations imposed by the other drivers and the environment.