How to get a Maine Learners Permit
- Maine Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
ME Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your ME driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Maine Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under Maine BMV guidelines, you must be at least 15 years to receive your learners permit. All applicants must have successfully completed an approved driver education course, then pass a written exam and a vision test in order to obtain the permit. You then must hold the learners permit for 6 months and log 35 hours (5 at night) of supervised driving time prior to applying for a driver license.
Prepare for the Written Knowledge Test
The Maine DMV requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Maine practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Learners Permit
Before you head to the Maine DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your learners permit:
- Identification and Proof of Age
- Proof of Social Security Number
- Driver education completion certificate
- Parental Consent
- Payment for application fee
On the Road
During the learner's permit phase, the licensee must complete 35 hours of supervised driving (5 of which should be done at night).
The minimum age for an intermediate license is 16 years old. The nighttime restriction during this phase is not being allowed to drive between the hours of midnight to 5 AM. For the first 6 months, the licensee is not allowed to have passengers in the vehicle. The minimum age for applying for an unrestricted license is 16 years and 6 months.
During the instruction permit phase, the licensee must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 20 years old, and has held the license for two consecutive years. For applicants over 18, driver education is not required.