How to get a Maine Driver's License
- Maine Driver's License Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
ME Driver's License Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your drivers license, pass your DMV written test, replace your out-of-state license and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Maine Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
Get your ME Driver's Permit
If this is your first driver's license, you will need to apply for a Maine learner's permit (instruction permit) which requires a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques.
Once you receive a valid instruction permit, you will then need to pass a road skills test and vision test to receive a ME intermediate driver's license.
If you are under 21 years of age, you must hold a learners permit for 6 months and complete a minimum of 35 hours of supervised driving before taking the road skills test.
Prepare for the Written Knowledge Test
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Maine practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
New Maine Residents
New residents with an out-of-state license must obtain a Maine driver's license within 30 days of establishing a permanent residence in ME. When heading to the DMV, be sure to bring the license from your former state as you will be required to surrender it in order to obtain the new license.
There is no written exam or road skills testing required to change a valid out-of-state license to a ME driver's license, however you will need to pass the vision test.
If you are 16 or 17 and hold a valid out-of-state license, you may be required to provide evidence of completion of an approved driver education course prior to the issuance of a Maine license.
Before you head to the Maine DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your driver's license:
On the Road
Once your licensing requirements have been met, you will receive your new:
- Restricted Driver's License (16 years and six months to 18 years of age) valid for 6 years.
- Full Driver's License (18 years of age and older) valid for 6 years.
Remember... the safe operation of a vehicle requires practiced skill, knowledge, and a respectful understanding of the limitations imposed by the other drivers and the environment.