How to get an Illinois Learners Permit
- Illinois Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
IL Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your IL driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Illinois Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under Illinois DMV guidelines, you must wait until your 15th birthday before you can apply for a Learners Permit.
Parent/guardian consent is required to obtain a permit. The licensee must be enrolled in an approved driver education course. Permit must be held for a minimum of 9 months.
Prepare for the Written Test
The Illinois DMV requires that all applicants must be in an approved driver education course, pass a vision and Road Rules and Road Signs written exam covering traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Illinois practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Instruction Permit
Before you head to the Illinois DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your instruction permit:
- Proof of Illinois Residency
- Proof of Age and Identity
- Proof of enrollment in driver education course
- Affidavit / Consent For Minor To Drive
- Payment for application fee
On the Road
During this period of your learners permit, the licensee must complete 50 hours of supervised driving (10 of which should be for nighttime driving).
The minimum age for an intermediate license is 16 years old. The nighttime restriction during Sundays-Thursdays is from the hours of 10 PM to 6 AM, while for Fridays-Saturdays are from the hours of 11 PM to 6 AM. For the first 12 months, the licensee is not allowed to have more than one passenger under the age of 20. Passenger restrictions are removed at the age of 17, while nighttime driving restrictions are lifted from the age of 18.