How to get an Alaska Learners Permit
- Alaska Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
AK Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your AK driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Alaska Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under Alaska drivers license guidelines, you must be at least 14 years old to apply for a learners permit. In order to be eligible for a provisional license, the driver must hold the permit for a minimum of 6 months of supervised driving. All applicants are required pass a written exam and vision test in order to obtain the permit. You then must hold the learners permit for 6 months prior to applying for a provisional driver's license.
Prepare for the Written Test
The Alaska DMV requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Alaska practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Learners Permit
Before you head to the Alaska DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your learners permit:
- Identification and Proof of Age
- Proof of Social Security Number
- Proof of Alaska residence address
- Parental Consent
- Payment for application fee
On the Road
During the learners permit phase, the licensee must complete 40 hours of driving time, 10 of which are for nighttime driving.
Before applying for a provisional license, the driver must be at least 16 years old. The nighttime restriction for a provisional license holder is not being allowed to drive between the hours of 1 AM to 5 AM. For the first 6 months of driving, a provisional license holder is not allowed to have passengers under the age of 21, except siblings.
In order to get full driving privileges in Alaska for removing nighttime driving and passenger restrictions, the applicant must be at least 16 years and 6 months old.
If the applicant is 19-20 years of age, the permit will expire 90 days after the driver's 21st birthday. The permit can only be renewed once, so careful driving is important for new drivers.