How to get an Alaska Driver's License
- Alaska Driver's License Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
AK Driver's License Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your AK drivers license, pass your DMV written test, replace your out-of-state license and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Alaska Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
Get your AK Driver's Permit
Under Alaska drivers license guidelines, you must be at least 14 years old to apply for a AK learner's permit. In order to be eligible for a provisional license, the driver must hold the permit for a minimum of 6 months of supervised driving. All applicants are required pass a written exam and vision test in order to obtain the permit. You then must hold the learners permit for 6 months prior to applying for a provisional driver's license.
Prepare for the Written Test
The Alaska DMV requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Alaska DMV Practice Test now and test your driving knowledge.
New Alaska Residents
New residents of Alaska who hold a valid driver's license from another state in the United States must get an Alaska Driver's License within 90 days after moving to AK and surrender their out-of-state driver's license and/or ID card.
A written exam and vision test are required to change your out-of-state license to an Alaska driver's license.
If your out-of-state driver's license has expired more than three year ago, you will be required to pass all required testing to receive a driver's license.
Alaska honors a valid foreign driver's license with an international driving permit for 90 days. At that time, you must obtain an AK driver's license by passing the written knowledge exam and vision test.
Required Paperwork for your Drivers License
Before you head to the Alaska DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your driver's license:
On the Road
Once your licensing requirements have been met, you will receive your new:
- Provisional Driver's License (16 to 18 years of age) will expire 90 days after the applicant's 21st birthday.
- Full Driver's License (18 to 20 years of age) will expire 90 days after the applicant's 21st birthday.
- Full Driver's License (21 and older) valid for 5 years.
Remember... the safe operation of a vehicle requires practiced skill, knowledge, and a respectful understanding of the limitations imposed by the other drivers and the environment.