How to get a North Carolina Motorcycle License
- North Carolina Motorcycle License Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
North Carolina DMV Motorcycle License Rules
Ready to take your motorcycle on the open road? We'll walk you through the steps to get your North Carolina motorcycle license with an extra emphasis on safe driving.
You'll need to be familiar with the North Carolina Driver's Manual. Think you know the material?
Take our Motorcycle License practice test now and test your knowledge here first!
First Time Motorcycle Riders
Under North Carolina DMV guidelines, anyone who drives a motorcycle must have a Class M motorcycle license or motorcycle instruction permit.
Applicants must be 16 years of age, pass the motorcycle knowledge test, a sign test and a vision screening. The final step is to pass the motorcycle skills test where you will demonstrate your competency in motorcycle operation.
Motorcycle Learner's Permit:
- If the applicant is at least 16 years old but less than 18 years old, the applicant must possess a full provisional license issued by the DMV. In addition a parent or guardian's signature is required.
- If the applicant is 18 years of age or older, the applicant must possess a license issued by the DMV.
- The Motorcycle Learner's Permit authorizes a person to operate a motorcycle without passengers.
- To obtain a motorcycle endorsement you must possess a full provisional license, a regular or commercial license.
- A motorcycle endorsement may be obtained upon initial issuance of a driver's license, or at any time thereafter.
- Drivers under the age of 18 will have to pass a motorcycle safety course approved by the NC DMV.
- In addition to the required tests for a driver's license the motorcycle endorsement initially requires the motorcycle knowledge exam and motorcycle on-cycle test. Upon renewal of the motorcycle endorsement no testing is required.
Prepare for the Motorcycle License Written Test
The North Carolina DMV requires that all applicants must pass a written motorcycle knowledge test on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least until the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All motorcyclists are encouraged to study for this written test so you don't take a chance on standing in line at the DMV Office only to go home empty-handed. Test your motorcycle safety and driving knowledge and take our North Carolina motorcycle practice test today!
Before you head to the North Carolina DMV Office, make sure you have the following required documents to get your motorcycle license. Examples include:
- Birth certificate issued in any state
- Drivers license or instruction permit issued in another state
- U.S. passport
- U.S. military ID card (active duty, retired, reserve)
- North Carolina ID card
- Social Security Number, if issued,
- Documents from a court of record
- Marriage certificate
- Parental Consent Form, which must be signed in the presence of a driver license examiner or notarized if parent or guardian will not be present.
On the Road
Once your licensing requirements have been met, a Class M endorsement will be added to your driver's license. Remember... the safe operation of a motorcycle requires practiced skill, knowledge, and a respectful understanding of the limitations imposed by the operator, the machine, and the environment.