How to get a Montana Motorcycle License
- Montana Motorcycle License Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
Montana DMV Motorcycle License Rules
Ready to take your motorcycle on the open road? We'll walk you through the steps to get your Montana motorcycle license with an extra emphasis on safe driving.
You'll need to be familiar with the Montana Driver's Manual. Think you know the material?
Take our Motorcycle License practice test now and test your knowledge here first!
First Time Motorcycle Riders
Under Montana DOJ guidelines, anyone who drives a motorcycle must have a Class M motorcycle license or motorcycle instruction permit. The driver examination consists of the following five parts: driving record review, physical aptitude review, vision test, written test, and a skills test.
You must be at least sixteen (16) years of age or fifteen (15) years of age and have passed a driver's education course approved by the Montana Department of Justice and the Superintendent of Public Instruction.
- Have in possession a valid Montana Driver License or obtain one.
- You must successfully complete the motorcycle examination.
- You must pay the required fee of $0.50 cents per year.
Prepare for the Motorcycle License Written Test
The Montana DOJ requires that all applicants must pass a written motorcycle knowledge test on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least until the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All motorcyclists are encouraged to study for this written test so you don't take a chance on standing in line at the DMV Office only to go home empty-handed. Test your motorcycle safety and driving knowledge and take our Montana motorcycle practice test today!
Before you head to the Montana DMV Office, make sure you have the following required documents to get your motorcycle license. Examples include:
- Birth certificate issued in any state
- Drivers license or instruction permit issued in another state
- U.S. passport
- U.S. military ID card (active duty, retired, reserve)
- Montana ID card
- Social Security Number, if issued,
- Documents from a court of record
- Marriage certificate
- Parental Consent Form, which must be signed in the presence of a driver license examiner or notarized if parent or guardian will not be present.
On the Road
Once your licensing requirements have been met, a Class M endorsement will be added to your driver's license. Remember... the safe operation of a motorcycle requires practiced skill, knowledge, and a respectful understanding of the limitations imposed by the operator, the machine, and the environment.