How to get a Wyoming Learner's Permit
- Wyoming Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
WY Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your WY driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Wyoming Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under Wyoming drivers license guidelines, you must wait until your 15th birthday before you can apply for a learners permit. All applicants are required pass a written exam and a vision test in order to obtain the permit. You then must hold it for at least 10 days before applying for an intermediate driving permit.
If you have held an intermediate permit for six months, and have completed an approved driver's education course, then you can apply for full driving privileges at the minimum age of 16 ½ yrs.
Prepare for the Written Test
The Wyoming Department of Transportation (WYDOT) requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic laws, rules and regulations.
The test is based on the latest edition of the Wyoming Driver Manual. If you fail the knowledge test twice, you'll have to reschedule a time to re-test on a different day.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Wyoming practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Instruction Permit
Before you head to the Wyoming DOT Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your instruction permit:
- State Certified Birth Certificate (along with legal documents for name change, if applicable) Xerox copies & laminated documents are not acceptable, or
- Valid U.S. passport or
- Certificate of Naturalization, or Non-U.S. Immigration documents in lieu of foreign birth certificates (A passport must be accompanied by INS documents).
- Signature of a parent, step-parent, or other adult sponsor, or file proof of insurance under certain conditions
- Visit the WYDOT site to verify that you meet all the requirements.
On the Road
During the learners permit phase, the licensee must complete 50 hours of driving time, 10 of which is for nighttime driving.
The licensee must be at least 16 years old to qualify for a provisional license. The nighttime restriction for a provisional license is not being allowed to drive between the hours of 11 PM to 5 AM. The licensee is not allowed to have more than one passenger under the age of 18.
In order to remove the nighttime and passenger restriction in Wyoming, the licensee must be 16 years and 6 months old.