How to get a Wisconsin Learners Permit
- Wisconsin Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
WI Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your WI driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Wisconsin Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under Wisconsin DMV guidelines, you must be at least 15 years and 6 months of age to obtain an Instruction Permit. If you are under the age of 18, you must be enrolled in a certified driver education program. Your license application must be signed by the instructor in the proper certification area and your first behind-the-wheel lesson must be conducted within 60 days of the issuance of your permit.
You must certify that you have had at least 30 hours of driving experience (10 of which must be at night); the certification must be signed by your parent or legal guardian.
Prepare for the Written Knowledge Test
Applicants who are at least 15 ½ years of age, who have not taken the driver's education class, must pass a written exam on traffic laws, rules, and regulations in order to get an instruction permit.
The test is based on the latest edition of the Wisconsin Driver Manual. If you fail the knowledge test, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Wisconsin practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Instruction Permit
Before you head to the Wisconsin DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your instruction permit:
- Proof of name and date of birth
- Proof of identity
- Proof of enrollment in a certified driver education program
- Signature of a parent, step-parent, or other adult sponsor, or file proof of insurance under certain conditions
- If under the age of 18, you must show proof of enrollment or graduation from a school or high school equivalency program
- Visit the Wisconsin DOT website to verify that you meet all the requirements.
On the Road
During the learners permit phase, the licensee must complete 30 hours of driving time, 10 of which is for nighttime driving.
The licensee must be at least 16 years old to qualify for a restricted license. The nighttime restriction for a restricted license is not being allowed to drive between the hours of midnight to 5 AM. The licensee is not allowed to have more than one passenger at a time.
In order to remove the nighttime and passenger restriction, the licensee must be 16 years and 9 months old.