How to get a Virginia Learners Permit
- Virginia Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
VA Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your VA driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Virginia Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under Virginia drivers license guidelines, you must be at least 15 years and 3 months old to apply for a learners permit. All applicants are required pass a two-part written exam and a vision test in order to obtain the permit. You then must hold it for at least 9 months. You must provide proof of successful completion of a state-approved driver education program and log 45 hours of driving (fifteen of which must have been completed after sunset) before applying for a driver's license.
Prepare for the Written Test
The Virginia DMV requires that all applicants must pass a two-part written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. All ten traffic sign questions in Part One must be answered correctly before you can take the 25-question general knowledge exam in Part Two. You must score at least 80% on these questions to pass Part Two. If you fail the exam, you must wait 15 days before you can retake the exam and pay a $2.00 re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Virginia practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Learners Permit
Before you head to the Virginia DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your learners permit:
- Identification and Proof of Age
- Proof of Social Security Number
- Proof of Virginia residence address
- Parental Consent
- Payment for application fee
On the Road
During the learners permit phase, the licensee must complete 45 hours of driving time, 15 of which should be for nighttime driving.
Before applying for an intermediate license, the driver must be at least 16 years and 3 months old. The nighttime restriction for an intermediate license is not being allowed to drive between the hours of midnight to 4 AM. For the first 12 months, the licensee isn't allowed to have more than one passenger under the age of 18, after that, the licensee may not have more than 3 passengers under the age of 18.
In order to get full driving privileges in Virginia for removing nighttime driving and passenger restrictions, the applicant must be 18 years old.