How to get an Utah Learners Permit
- Utah Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
UT Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your UT driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Utah Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under Utah drivers license guidelines, you must be at least 15 years old to apply for a Learners Permit. All applicants are required pass a written exam and a vision test in order to obtain the permit. You then must hold the learners permit for 6 months from the issue date, be at least 16 years old and have completed an approved driver education course prior to applying for a driver license.
Prepare for the Written Test
The Utah DMV requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Utah practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Driving Permit
Before you head to the Utah DPS Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your instruction permit:
- 2 forms of identification, one form must be from the Primary Identification list, and provide the Social Security card or ITIN
- Proof of Utah residency
- A parent or legal guardian must sign the application in the presence of a Driver License Division employee or a Notary Public. If no parent or legal guardian is available, then a responsible adult may sign for the applicant.
On the Road
During the driving permit phase, the licensee must complete 40 hours of driving time, 10 of which should be for nighttime driving.
Before applying for an intermediate license, the driver must be at least 16 years old. The nighttime restriction for an intermediate license is not being allowed to drive between the hours of midnight to 5 AM. For the first 6 months, the licensee is not allowed to have any passengers.
The nighttime driving restrictions for Utah may be removed at the age of 17 years, while the passenger restriction is lifted at age of 16 years and 6 months old.