How to get a South Dakota Learners Permit
- South Dakota Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
SD Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your SD driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the South Dakota Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under South Dakota DPS guidelines, you must be at least 14 years old to apply for a Learners Permit.All applicants are required pass a written exam and a vision test in order to obtain the permit. You then must hold the learners permit for 180 days (90 days if you successfully complete a Department of Education driver education course) from the issue date prior to applying for a driver license.
Prepare for the Written Test
The South Dakota DPS requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the South Dakota practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Instruction Permit
Before you head to the South Dakota drivers license office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your instruction permit:
- Identification and Proof of Age
- Proof of Social Security Number
- Proof of residence address
- Parental Consent
- Payment for application fee
On the Road
The required holding period for an instruction permit is 6 months, which is reduced to 3 months if the licensee has undergone driver education.
The licensee must be at least 14 years and 6 months old to qualify for a restricted license. For licensees with driver education, the age requirement is lowered to 14 years and 3 months. The nighttime restriction for a restricted license is not being allowed to drive between the hours of 10 PM to 6 AM.