How to get a South Carolina Learners Permit
- South Carolina Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
SC Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your SC driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the South Carolina Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under South Carolina DMV guidelines, you must wait until their 15th birthday to apply for a beginner's learners permit. All applicants are required pass a written exam and a vision test in order to obtain the permit. You then must hold the learners permit for 180 days and log 40 hours of driving time (including 10 hours during darkness) from the issue date prior to applying for a driver license.
Prepare for the Written Test
The South Carolina DMV requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the South Carolina practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Instruction Permit
Before you head to the South Carolina DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your instruction permit:
- Birth certificate, social security card, proof of residency and insurance information.
- You must bring your parent or legal guardian with you to sign your application
On the Road
During the driving permit phase, the licensee must complete 40 hours of driving time, 10 of which is for nighttime driving.
The licensee must be at least 15 years and 6 months old to qualify for an intermediate license. The nighttime restriction for an intermediate license is not being allowed to drive between the hours of 6 PM to 6 AM EST and 8 PM to 6 AM EDT. The licensee is not allowed to have more than two passengers under the age of 21. In order to remove the nighttime and passenger restriction in South Carolina, the licensee must be 16 years and 6 months old.