How to get a Rhode Island Learners Permit
- Rhode Island Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
RI Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your RI driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Rhode Island Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under Rhode Island DMV guidelines, you must wait until your 16th birthday before you can apply for a Limited Instructional Permit. There are two requirements you must complete; First, you must pass an accredited 33-hour classroom driver education class. Second, you must take a written test. You then must hold the learners permit for 6 months from the issue date prior to applying for a driver license.
Prepare for the Knowledge Exam
The Rhode Island DMV requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Rhode Island practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Instruction Permit
Before you head to the Rhode Island DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your instruction permit:
- A certified birth certificate (not a copy)
- Driver Education certificate
- A Social Security card
- Your parent, legal guardian, licensed foster parent or adult spouse must sign the permit application and have their signature notarized. If your parent, guardian or foster parent accompanies you to the DMV, they must show ID in order to have their signature notarized on the permit application.
- Payment for application fee
On the Road
During the permit phase, the licensee must complete 50 hours of driving time, 10 of which should be done at night to be eligible for a restricted license.
The licensee must be at least 16 years and 6 months old to qualify for a restricted license. The nighttime restriction for the provisional license is not being allowed to drive between the hours of 1 AM to 5 AM. For the first 12 months, the licensee is not allowed to have more than 1 passenger under the age of 21.
In order to get full driving privileges in Rhode Island for removing nighttime driving and passenger restrictions, the applicant must be at least 17 years old.