How to get a Pennsylvania Learners Permit
- Pennsylvania Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
PA Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your PA driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Pennsylvania Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under Pennsylvania drivers license guidelines, you must be at least 16 years old to apply for a learners permit. All applicants are required pass a written exam and vision test in order to obtain the permit. You then must hold the learners permit for 6 months and log 50 hours of driving time from the issue date prior to applying for a driver license.
Prepare for the Written Knowledge Test
The Pennsylvania DMV requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. The exam consists of 18 questions and you must answer 15 correctly in order to pass. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Pennsylvania practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Learners Permit
Before you head to the Pennsylvania DOT Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your learners permit:
- Your completed Non-Commercial Learner's Permit Application (DL-180). Your health care provider must complete the back of the non-commercial learner's permit application.
- Proof of date of birth and identification. The only acceptable proof of identification can be found on the back of the DL-180 (Non-Commercial Learner's Permit Application)
- Your social security card (card cannot be laminated)
- Your check or money order made payable to Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) the correct amount. CASH CANNOT BE ACCEPTED.
On the Road
During the learners permit phase, the licensee must complete 50 hours of driving time during this phase.
Before applying for a junior license, the driver must be at least 16 years and 6 months old. The nighttime restriction for a junior license is not being allowed to drive between the hours of 11 PM to 5 AM.
In order to get a full unrestricted driver's license in Pennsylvania, the licensee must be at least 17 years old, 18 if licensee has not taken driver education.