How to get a North Dakota Learners Permit
- North Dakota Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Test
- Required ID and Paperwork
ND Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your ND driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the North Dakota Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under North Dakota drivers license guidelines, you must wait until your 14th birthday before you can apply for a driving permit. All applicants are required pass a written exam and vision test in order to obtain the permit. You then must hold the learners permit for 6 months from the issue date complete an approved driver education course prior to applying for a driver license.
Beginning January 1st 2012, anyone under the age of 16 must hold their learner's permit for 12 months; they must also complete a course of classroom instruction and behind the wheel instruction and certify that they have received 50 hours of supervised driving instruction before applying for an operator's drivers license.
Prepare for the Written Test
The North Dakota DMV requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the North Dakota practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Driving Permit
Before you head to the North Dakota DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your instruction permit:
- Identification and Proof of Age
- Proof of Social Security Number
- Proof of residence address
- Parental Consent
- Payment for application fee
On the Road
During the permit phase, a new driver must complete 50 hours of driving time.
The minimum age for getting a license in North Dakota is 16. The minimum driving age in North Dakota is 16. A licensee may not drive in North Dakota if they are under 16, even if they are licensed in another state. However, a North Dakota resident can obtain a restricted license at the age of 14. A parent or legal guardian must sign for a minor under the age of 18 to be issued a permit or license.