How to get a North Carolina Learners Permit
- North Carolina Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
NC Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your NC driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the North Carolina Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under North Carolina DMV guidelines, you must be 15 years old to apply for a learners permit. All applicants are required pass a written exam and vision test in order to obtain the permit. You then must hold the learners permit for 12 months from the issue date prior to applying for a driver license.
Prepare for the Written Test
The North Carolina DMV requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the North Carolina practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Learners Permit
Before you head to the North Carolina DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your permit:
- Proof that you have completed an approved driver education course that meets North Carolina requirements and can present a Driving Eligibility Certificate (issued by the public school system)
- Proof of Social Security Number
- Proof of residence address
- Parental Consent
- Payment for application fee
On the Road
During the learners permit phase, a licensee must complete 60 hours of driving time (10 of which must be at night).
The licensee must be at least 16 years old to qualify for a provisional license. The nighttime restriction for a provisional license is not being allowed to drive between the hours of 9 PM to 5 AM. The licensee is not allowed to have more than one passenger under the age of 21 years old. If there's already a member of the family who is under 21 as a passenger in the vehicle, no other passengers under the age of 21 is allowed to ride.