How to get a New York Learners Permit
- New York Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
NY Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your NY driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the New York Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under New York DMV guidelines, you must wait until your 16th birthday before you can apply for a learners permit. All applicants are required pass a written exam and vision test in order to obtain the permit. You then must hold the learners permit for 6 months from the issue date prior to applying for a driver license.
Prepare for the Written Test
The New York DMV requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the New York practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Learners Permit
Before you head to the New York DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your learners permit:
- Identification and Proof of Age
- Proof of Social Security Number
- Signed consent form MV-44 (Driver License Application) by parent or legal guardian
- Payment for the application fee and the driver license fee
On the Road
During the learners permit phase, the licensee must complete 50 hours of driving time (15 of which is for nighttime driving). Learner's permit holders are not allowed to drive unless supervised by a supervising driver aged 21 or older.
The licensee must be at least 15 years old to qualify for a junior license. The nighttime restriction for a junior driver's license is not being allowed to drive between the hours of 9 PM to 5 AM. The licensee is not allowed to have more than one passenger under the age of 21 years old.
In order to remove the nighttime and passenger restriction in New York, the licensee must be 17 years old, 18 if the licensee did not undergo driver education.