How to get a Michigan Learners Permit
- Michigan Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
MI Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your MI driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Michigan Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under Michigan DMV guidelines, you must be 14 years and 9 months old and have successfully completed Segment 1 of an approved driver education program to apply for a Level 1 learner's license.
You then must complete Segment 2 of the Michigan driver education program and have at least 50 hours of supervised driving experience prior to applying for a level 2 intermediate license.
Prepare for the Written Test
The Michigan DMV requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Michigan practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Learners Permit
Before you head to the Michigan DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your learners permit:
- Identification and Proof of Age
- Proof of Social Security Number
- Proof of residence address
- Signature of parent on application
- Payment for application fee
On the Road
During the learner's permit phase, you must complete 50 hours (10 for nighttime driving) of supervised driving in order to be eligible for Stage 2, which is the Intermediate License. Before applying for an intermediate license, the driver must be at least 16 years old. The nighttime restriction for an intermediate license is not being allowed to drive between the hours of midnight to 5 AM. In order to get full driving privileges in Michigan for removing nighttime driving restrictions, the applicant must be at least 17 years old.
The required supervising passenger must have been licensed for at least a year and is at least 21 years of age or older and is occupying the front seat beside the licensee.