How to get a Maryland Learners Permit
- Maryland Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
MD Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your MD driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Maryland Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under Maryland DMV guidelines, you must be 15 years and 9 months to get your learners permit. The holding period for the permit is 9 months.
All applicants are required pass a written exam and a vision test in order to obtain the permit. You then must hold the learners permit for 9 months and log 60 hours (10 of those hours must be at night) of supervised driving time prior to applying for a provisional driver license.
Prepare for the Written Knowledge Test
The Maryland MVA requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Maryland practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Learners Permit
Before you head to the Maryland MVA Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your learners permit:
- Learner's Permit School Attendance Certification Form
- Proof of Identity
- Proof of Age
- Proof of Maryland residence
- Signature of parent on application
- Social Security Number
On the Road
During the learners permit phase, the licensee must complete 60 hours of supervised driving (10 of which should be done at night).
Before applying for a provisional license, the driver must be at least 16 years old. The nighttime restriction for a provisional license holder is not being allowed to drive between the hours of midnight to 6 AM. The number of allowed passenger for this stage is 1. The licensee must hold the restricted license for a period of 6 months before applying for an unrestricted license.
Passenger restrictions are lifted once the licensee reaches the age of 16 years and 11 months. The nighttime driving restrictions are lifted at the age of 18.