How to get a Kentucky Learners Permit
- Kentucky Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
KY Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your KY driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Kentucky Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under Kentucky DMV guidelines, you must be at least 16 years old to receive your learners permit. All applicants are required pass a written exam and a vision test in order to obtain the permit. You then must hold the learners permit for 180 days prior to applying for an intermediate driver license.
Prepare for the Written Test
The Kentucky DMV requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Kentucky practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Driving Permit
Before you head to the Kentucky DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your instruction permit:
- Identification and Proof of Age
- Proof of Social Security Number
- Proof of residence address
- Written consent of parent/guardian
- Payment for application fee
On the Road
During this driver permit phase, the licensee must complete 60 hours of supervised driving (10 of which should be done at night). Permit holders may only drive with a licensed driver over 21 years old accompanying them in the front passenger seat.
The minimum age for an intermediate license is 16 years and 6 months old. The nighttime driving restriction during this phase is not being allowed to drive between the hours of midnight to 6 AM. The licensee is not allowed to have more than one unrelated passenger under the age of 20.
The minimum age for a full unrestricted license in Kentucky is 17 years old.