How to get an Indiana Learners Permit
- Indiana Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
IN Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your IN driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's licenseTry Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Indiana Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under Indiana guidelines, you must wait until your 16th birthday before you can apply for a Learners Permit.
You may obtain a learner's permit if you are at least 15 years and 180 days old (approximately 15 years and six months) by showing proof of your enrollment in an approved driver education program by presenting a valid Certificate of Driver Education Enrollment from the program.
All applicants are required pass a written exam and a vision test in order to obtain the permit. Prior to applying for a driver's license, you must hold your learner's permit until:
- you are at least 16 years and 180 days old (approximately 16 years and six months), if you have successfully completed an approved driver education program.
- you are at least 16 years and 270 days old (approximately 16 years and nine months) if you have not successfully completed an approved driver education program.
Prepare for the Written Knowledge Test
The Indiana BMV requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Indiana practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Instruction Permit
Before you head to the Indiana BMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your learners permit:
- Proof of Indiana Residency
- Proof of Age and Identity
- Social Security Number
- Proof of completion of a driver education course
- Signature of parent on application
On the Road
A licensee must be at least 15 years and 6 months old to apply for an Indiana learner's permit. The learner's permit must be held for a period of 6 months. During this time, the licensee must complete 50 hours of supervised driving (10 of which should be done at night).
The minimum age for a probationary license is 16 years and 6 months old. Without driver education, the minimum age for a probationary license is 16 years and 9 months. The nighttime restriction during Sundays-Thursdays is from the hours of 11 PM to 5 AM, while for Fridays-Saturdays are from the hours of 1 AM to 5 AM. For the first 12 months, the licensee is not allowed to have more than one passenger under the age of 20.
Passenger restrictions are removed at the age of 17, (17 years and 3 months without driver education) while nighttime driving restrictions are lifted from the age of 18.