How to get an Idaho Learners Permit
- Idaho Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
ID Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your ID driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Idaho Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under Idaho guidelines, you must wait until your 15th birthday before you can apply for an Idaho Supervised Instruction Drivers Permit.
Prepare for the Written Knowledge Test
Idaho requires that all applicants must pass an approved driver training program covering traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques.
Once you have successfully met the requirements of the Graduated Driver License program, and are at least 15 years of age, you will be required to take and pass the skills test and the Road Rules and Road Signs knowledge test before receiving a driver's license. The skills test and the knowledge test may NOT be taken sooner than six (6) months from the date you complete the driver's training course or age 17, whichever comes first.
If you fail the written and/or the skills test, you must wait three days before retesting for each failure.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Idaho practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Instruction Permit
Before you head to the Idaho IDT Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your instruction permit:
- Proof of Idaho Residency
- Proof of Age and Identity
- Liability Signer
- Driver Training Completion
- Payment for application fee
On the Road
A licensee must be at least 14 years and 6 months old to apply for an Idaho instruction permit. The instruction permit must be held for a period of 6 months. During this period, the licensee must complete 50 hours of supervised driving (10 of which should be for nighttime driving).
The minimum age for a restricted license is 15 years old. The intermediate license must be held for a period of 12 months. The nighttime restriction for this age is licensees are only allowed to drive between the hours of sunrise and sunset. Licensees under the age of 16 can have no more than one passenger under the age of 17. At the age of 15 years and 6 months, the passenger restriction is lifted. At the age of 16, the nighttime driving restriction is lifted.