How to get a Hawaii Learners Permit
- Hawaii Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
HI Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your HI driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Hawaii Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under Hawaii DMV guidelines, you must be at least 15 years and 6 months years old to apply for a Learners Permit (also known as instruction permit). The instruction permit must be held for a period of 6 months.
Prepare for the Written Test
The Hawaii DMV requires that all applicants must pass a Road Rules and Road Signs written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Hawaii practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Instruction Permit
Before you head to the Hawaii DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your instruction permit:
- Proof of name and age
- Proof of Social Security Number
- Proof of residence address
- Consent of a parent or legal guardian
- Payment for license fees
On the Road
During this period with your instruction permit, you must complete 50 hours of supervised driving (10 of which should be for nighttime driving) and an approved driver education course. The minimum age for a restricted license (provisional license) is 16 years old. The nighttime restriction for this age is not being allowed to drive between the hours of 11 PM to 5 AM. For this period, the licensee is allowed to have only one passenger younger than 18.
When the provisional license holder turns 18, they have until their 19th birthday to get the license converted to a full driver license. Failure to do so will subject the licensee to be processed as a new applicant. The get the full Driver License at age 17, the Provisional License must be held for a period of at least 6 months.