How to get a Delaware Learners Permit
- Delaware Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
DE Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your DE driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's licenseTry Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Delaware Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under Delaware DMV guidelines, you must be at least 16 years old to apply for a Learners Permit. All applicants are required pass a driver education course and a vision test in order to obtain the permit. You then must hold the learners permit for 6 months prior to applying for a driver license.
Prepare for the Written Test
The Delaware DMV requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Delaware practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Learner's Permit
Before you head to the Delaware DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your instruction permit:
- Delaware Driver Education Certificate (Blue Certificate) as proof that you passed a certified Delaware Driver Education Course
- Documentation proving your name and date of birth, social security number if eligible, and two proofs of Delaware residency
- Application signed by a sponsor
On the Road
When you first receive your Delaware learners permit, you may practice driving if accompanied by a licensed parent, guardian or licensed driver (approved by the sponsor) who is at least 25 years of age and has held a Class D license for at least 5 years. The supervising driver must occupy the passenger seat next to you at all times.