How to get a Colorado Learners Permit
- Colorado Instruction Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
CO Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your CO driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Colorado Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under Colorado DMV guidelines, you must wait until your 15th birthday before you can apply for a driver's education or driver's awareness permit.
- Driver's Education Permit - Ages 15 years - 15 years and 6 months - Requires a completed Affidavit of Completion of a Driver Education Classroom Course indicating you have completed and passed the classroom portion of a state-approved driver education course within 6 months prior to applying for your instruction permit.
- Driver's Awareness Permit - Ages 15 years and 6 months - 16 years - Requires documentation verifying that you have completed the 4-hour Driver Awareness Program or completed a 30 hour classroom study course within 6 months of applying for your Driver's Instruction Permit.
All applicants are required pass a written exam and vision test in order to obtain the permit. You then must hold the driver's permit for 12 months from the issue date and log 50 hours of driving time (10 nighttime) prior to applying for a driver license or restricted driver's license.
Prepare for the Written Test
The Colorado DMV requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Colorado practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Instruction Permit
Before you head to the Colorado DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your driver education permit:
- Provide proof of identity and residence address
- Completed Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship (DR2460)
- Completion of the 4-hour Driver Awareness Program or 30 hours classroom study course within 6 months of applying for your Driver's Instruction Permit.
- Payment for testing and issuance fees
On the Road
When you first receive your Colorado permit, you may only drive with your driver education instructor or the person(s) who signed the Affidavit of Liability until you are 15 years, 6 months. The minimum age for getting a restricted license is 16. The nighttime driving restriction applies for the hours between midnight and 5 AM. For the first 6 months, the licensee is not allowed to drive with passengers under the age of 21 years or older, with the exception of siblings. When the licensee turns 18, restrictions are removed from their driver's license.