How to get a West Virginia Driver's License
- West Virginia Driver's License Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
WV Driver's License Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your drivers license, pass your DMV written test, replace your out-of-state license and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the West Virginia Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
Get your WV Driver's Permit
You must be at least 16 years of age to apply for a West Virginia Drivers License.
- If you are over 18, you must hold a WV learner's permit at least 30 days before you can receive a driver's license.
- If you are under age 18, you must have held a learners permit for 180 days and your parent or guardian must certify that you received at least 30 hours of driving practice before taking the road skills test.
If you are under age 18, you must have had an instruction permit for at least six months and your parent or guardian must certify that you received at least 50 hours of driving practice, ten of which must have been completed after sunset before you can take the road skills test.
If you are over age 18, you will be required to pass a knowledge test on West Virginia traffic safety laws plus take a vision and color recognition test before you can take the road skills test.
Prepare for the Written Knowledge Test
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the West Virginia practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
New West Virginia Residents
New residents with out-of-state license must obtain a West Virginia within 30 days of establishing a permanent residence in WV. When heading to the DMV, be sure to bring the license from your former state as you will be required to surrender it in order to obtain the new license.
A vision test and an alcohol awareness course are required to change a valid out-of-state license to a WV driver's license; however the written test is waived if you are over 18.
If your out-of-state license is expired you may have to apply as a new driver and take the written test and road test.
Motorists who are residents of other nations and who are bona fide tourists visiting the United States may drive up to 90 days with their own driver license.
If you are a holder of a valid foreign driver license and wish to convert to a West Virginia driver license, you must take and pass all required tests (vision, driver knowledge, road skills).
Before you head to the West Virginia DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your driver's license:
On the Road
Once your licensing requirements have been met, you will receive your new:
- Restricted License (16 to 17 years of age) expires on the 18th birthday.
- Full driver's license (18 to 20 years of age) expires on the 21st birthday.
- Full driver's license (21 and older) valid up to 7 years.
Remember... the safe operation of a vehicle requires practiced skill, knowledge, and a respectful understanding of the limitations imposed by the other drivers and the environment.