How to get a Vermont Drivers License
- Vermont Driver's License Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
VT Drivers License Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your drivers license, pass your DMV written test, replace your out-of-state license and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Vermont Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
Get your VT Driver's Permit
You must be at least 16 years of age to apply for a Vermont Drivers License.
If this is your first driver's license and you are under 18, you will need to apply for a Vermont learners permit which requires a vision test and a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques.
Once you receive a valid learners permit, you will then need to pass a road skills test to receive a VT junior operator's license.
Applicants under 18 must have held a learners permit for 1 year and provide proof that you have successfully completed 40 hours (10 at night) of supervised driving time before taking the road skills test.
Prepare for the Written Knowledge Test
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Vermont practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
New Vermont Residents
New residents with an out-of-state license must obtain a Vermont license no more than 60 days after establishing a permanent residence in VT. When heading to the DMV, be sure to bring the license from your former state as you will be required to surrender it in order to obtain the new license.
The written exam and road skills test are not required to change a valid out-of-state license to a VT driver's license, however you will need to pass a vision test.
If your out-of-state license has been expired for more than one (1) year you will have to take the vision test, written test and road test and you must make an appointment for an exam.
Non-US citizens who wish to obtain a Learner Permit or Driver License must provide proof of valid legal presence in the United States for at least 30 days from the date of the Learner Permit or Driver License Issuance forward.
Before you head to the Vermont DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your driver's license:
On the Road
Once your licensing requirements have been met, you will receive your new:
- Restricted License (16 to 17 years of age) valid for 2 to 4 years.
- Full driver's license (18 and older) valid 2 to 4 years.
Remember... the safe operation of a vehicle requires practiced skill, knowledge, and a respectful understanding of the limitations imposed by the other drivers and the environment.