How to get a Oregon Driver's License
- Oregon Driver's License Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
OR Driver's License Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your drivers license, pass your DMV written test, replace your out-of-state license and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Oregon Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
Get your OR Driver's Permit
You must be at least 16 years of age to apply for an Oregon Drivers License.
If this is your first driver's license, you will need to apply for an Oregon instruction learners permit which requires you to pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques in addition to vision test.
Once you receive a valid learners permit, you will then need to pass a road skills test to receive an OR drivers license.
Applicants under 18 must have held a learners permit for 6 months and show proof that you completed an approved traffic safety education course, OR complete an additional 50 hours of supervised driving experience before taking the road skills test.
Before taking the road skills test, applicants under the age of 18 must show proof of:
- 50 hours of supervised driving experience and completion of an approved traffic safety course; or
- 100 hours of supervised driving experience
Prepare for the Written Knowledge Test
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Oregon practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
New Oregon Residents
New residents with an out-of-state license must obtain an Oregon driver's license upon establishing a permanent residence in OR. When heading to the DMV, be sure to bring the license from your former state as you will be required to surrender it in order to obtain the new license.
The written exam and vision test are required to change a valid out-of-state license to an OR driver's license; however the road skills test may be waived at the discretion of the examiner.
If your out-of-state driver's license is expired, you may be required to apply for a license as a new driver and pass all required testing.
If you are a holder of a valid foreign driver license and wish to convert to an Oregon driver license, you must take and pass all required tests (vision, driver knowledge, road skills).
Before you head to the Oregon DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your driver's license:
On the Road
Once your licensing requirements have been met, you will receive an interim card to use until you receive your permanent license in the mail. Once your licensing requirements have been met, you will receive your new:
- Restricted License (16 to 17 years of age).
- Full driver's license (18 and older) valid for up to 8 years.
Remember... the safe operation of a vehicle requires practiced skill, knowledge, and a respectful understanding of the limitations imposed by the other drivers and the environment.