How to get a Mississippi Driver's License
- Mississippi Driver's License Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
MS Driver's License Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your drivers license, pass your DMV written test, replace your out-of-state license and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Mississippi Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
Get your MS Learner's Permit
If this is your first driver's license, you will need to apply for a Mississippi learners permit (instruction permit) which requires a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques.
Once you receive a valid learners permit, you will then need to pass a road skills test and vision test to receive an MS provisional drivers license.
Applicants under 18 must have held a learners permit for 6 months, completed drivers education, and log 30 hours (10 at night) of supervised driving time before taking the road skills test.
Prepare for the Written Knowledge Test
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Mississippi practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
New Mississippi Residents
New residents with an out-of-state license must obtain a Mississippi driver's within 60 days of establishing a permanent residence in MS. When heading to the DMV, be sure to bring the license from your former state as you will be required to surrender it in order to obtain the new license.
There is no road skills testing required to change a valid out-of-state license to an MS driver's license, however you will need to pass the written exam and vision test. If your license has been expired for more than one year, you must also pass a road test.
If you are a non-U.S. citizen, you must meet all other requirements for obtaining an operator's license except for providing a social security card. The license or identification card will be valid for one (1) year from date of issuance.
Before you head to the Mississippi DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your driver's license:
On the Road
Once your licensing requirements have been met, you will receive your new:
- Intermediate Driver's License (15 to 17 years of age) valid for 4 years.
- Full driver's license (17 to 18 years of age) valid for 4 years.
- Full driver's license (18 and older) valid for 4 years.
Remember... the safe operation of a vehicle requires practiced skill, knowledge, and a respectful understanding of the limitations imposed by the other drivers and the environment.