How to get a Massachusetts Driver's License
- Massachusetts Driver's License Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
MA Driver's License Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your drivers license, pass your DMV written test, replace your out-of-state license and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Massachusetts Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
Get your MA Driver's Permit
If this is your first driver's license, you will need to apply for a Massachusetts learner's permit which requires a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques.
Once you receive a valid learner's permit, you will then need to pass a road skills test and vision test to receive a MA Junior Operator's License.
Applicants under 18 must have held a learners permit for 6 consecutive months, completed a driver education training program approved by the Registrar, and logged 40 hours (30 hours if the junior operator completes a driver skills development program) of supervised driving time before taking the road skills test.
Prepare for the Written Knowledge Test
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Massachusetts practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
New Massachusetts Residents
New residents with an out-of-state license must obtain a Massachusetts driver's license upon establishing a permanent residence in MA. When heading to the RMV, be sure to bring the license from your former state as you will be required to surrender it in order to obtain the new license.
There is no written exam or road skills testing required to change a valid out-of-state license to an MA driver's license, however you will need to pass the vision test.
No person under the age of 16 may drive in Massachusetts. This is true even if you have a driver's license (or learner's permit) issued in a state or U.S. territory or another country that allows operation of a motor vehicle by a person less than 16 years of age.
You can obtain a learner's permit at age 16, but you may not receive a Class D or a Class M driver's license until you are at least 16 1/2 and have had your permit in good standing for six consecutive months and have completed a driver education training program approved by the Registrar.
If the customer is under the age of 18, he/she must also either convert his/her out-of-state driver's education certificate or complete a driver's education course in Massachusetts.
If your out-of-state license has been expired for more than one (1) year but less than four (4), you will be required to take a written test for the class license you are trying to transfer. If your license has been expired more than four (4) years, a full test - written and road - plus an eye test will be required.
If you are converting a license from a country other than Canada, Mexico or one of the US Territories, you must take the full - written and road - test plus the eye test.
Before you head to the Massachusetts DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your driver's license:
On the Road
Once your licensing requirements have been met, you will receive your new:
- Restricted Driver's License (16 years and six months to 18 years of age) valid for 5 years.
- Full Driver's License (18 years of age and older) valid for 5 years.
Remember... the safe operation of a vehicle requires practiced skill, knowledge, and a respectful understanding of the limitations imposed by the other drivers and the environment.