How to get a Kansas Driver's License
- Kansas Driver's License Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required Kansas and Paperwork
Kansas Driver's License Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your Kansas drivers license, pass your DMV written test, replace your out-of-state license and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Kansas Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
Get your KS Driver's Permit
If this is your first driver's, you will need to apply for a Kansas learner's permit which requires a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques.
Once you receive a valid learners permit, you will then need to pass a road skills test and vision test to receive a KS drivers license.
Applicants under 17 must have held a learners permit for one year and log 50 hours of supervised driving time before taking the road skills test.
Prepare for the Written Knowledge Test
The Kansas DMV requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Kansas practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
New Kansas Residents
New residents with an out-of-state license must obtain a Kansas driver's license within 90 days of establishing a permanent residence in KS. When heading to the DMV, be sure to bring the license from your former state as you will be required to surrender it in order to obtain the new license.
There is no written exam or road skills testing required to change a valid out-of-state license to a KS driver's license, however you will need to pass the vision test.
If you have an expired out-of-state license (1 year or less) you must pass the written exam and vision test. If your license has been expired for more than a year you'll also be required to take the road skills test.
Before you head to the Kansas DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your driver's license:
On the Road
Once your licensing requirements have been met, you will receive your new:
- Restricted Driver's License (15 years to 17 years of age) expires on 21st birthday.
- Full Driver's License (18 years of age and older) valid for 4 to 6 years.
Remember... the safe operation of a vehicle requires practiced skill, knowledge, and a respectful understanding of the limitations imposed by the other drivers and the environment.