How to get an Maine Motorcycle License
- Maine Motorcycle License Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
Maine DMV Motorcycle License Rules
Ready to take your motorcycle on the open road? We'll walk you through the steps to get your Maine motorcycle license with an extra emphasis on safe driving.
You'll need to be familiar with the Maine Driver's Manual. Think you know the material?
Take our Motorcycle License practice test now and test your knowledge here first!
First Time Motorcycle Riders
Under Maine DMV guidelines, anyone who drives a motorcycle must have a Class M motorcycle license or motorcycle instruction permit.
Applicants must be 16 years of age, pass the motorcycle knowledge test, a sign test and a vision screening. Completion of basic driver education is required if under age 18. Completion of a prescribed motorcycle driver education program consisting of an 8-hour block of instruction, is also required for all applicants. The final step is to pass the motorcycle skills test where you will demonstrate your competency in motorcycle operation.
Like most states, Maine will waive your skills test and issue you a license if you complete an approved basic motorcycle rider safety course. These courses last anywhere from two to six weeks and include classroom instruction as well as driver training in a controlled, off-street environment. When you successfully complete this course, you will be eligible for your motorcycle driver's license without having to take your Maine road test.
Prepare for the Motorcycle License Written Test
The Maine DMV requires that all applicants must pass a written motorcycle knowledge test on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least until the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All motorcyclists are encouraged to study for this written test so you don't take a chance on standing in line at the DMV Office only to go home empty-handed. Test your motorcycle safety and driving knowledge and take our Maine motorcycle practice test today!
Before you head to the Maine DMV Office, make sure you have the following required documents to get your motorcycle license. Examples include:
- Birth certificate issued in any state
- Drivers license or instruction permit issued in another state
- U.S. passport
- U.S. military ID card (active duty, retired, reserve)
- Maine ID card
- Social Security Number, if issued,
- Documents from a court of record
- Marriage certificate
- Parental Consent Form, which must be signed in the presence of a driver license examiner or notarized if parent or guardian will not be present.
On the Road
Once your licensing requirements have been met, a Class M endorsement will be added to your driver's license. Remember... the safe operation of a motorcycle requires practiced skill, knowledge, and a respectful understanding of the limitations imposed by the operator, the machine, and the environment.