How to get a Louisiana Learners Permit
- Louisiana Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
LA Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your LA driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Louisiana Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under Louisiana driver's license guidelines, you must be at least 15 years old to receive your learners permit. The holding period for a driving permit is 6 months. You must wait until your 16th birthday and you must have held your learner's permit for a minimum of 180 days before applying for an intermediate license.
Prepare for the Written Test
The Louisiana DPS requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Louisiana practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Instruction Permit
Before you head to the Louisiana DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your instruction permit:
- Identification and Proof of Age
- Social Security Number
- Parental Consent
- Written consent of parent/guardian
On the Road
During the learner's permit phase, the licensee must complete 35 hours of supervised driving. Permit holders may only drive while accompanied by a licensed driver over 21 years old.
To receive your restricted drivers license the minimum age for a restricted license is 16 years old. The nighttime driving restriction during this phase is not being allowed to drive between the hours of 11 PM to 5 AM. With a restricted license, you can have no more than one passenger younger than 21 between the hours of 6:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. The minimum age for a full unrestricted driver's license in Louisiana is 17 years old.