How to get a Colorado Drivers License
- Colorado Driver's License Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
CO Driver's License Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your CO drivers license, pass your DMV written test, replace your out-of-state license and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Colorado Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
Get your CO Driver's Permit
If this is your first driver's license, you will need to apply for a Colorado driver's education or driver's awareness permit which requires a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques.
Once you receive a valid driver's education or driver's awareness permit, you will then need to pass a road skills test and vision test to receive a CO minor driver's license.
Applicants under 18 must have held a learners permit for 12 months and must present a certificate of completion for the required 50 hours of supervised driving time before taking the road skills test. A 6-hour Behind the Wheel (BTW) certificate is required, for any minor who is under the age of 16 years 6 months at the time they apply for their license.
Prepare for the Written Knowledge Test
The Colorado DMV requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Colorado practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
New Colorado Residents
New residents with an out-of-state license must obtain a Colorado driver's license upon establishing a permanent residence in CO. (A resident is defined as a citizen who has lived in Colorado for 90 continuous days; or upon becoming employed, whichever occurs first). When heading to the DMV, be sure to bring the license from your former state as you will be required to surrender it in order to obtain the new license.
There is no written exam or road skills testing required to change a valid out-of-state license to a CO driver's license, however you will need to pass the vision test.
If the license is expired over one year, both the written and drive tests are required and additional identification may be required if the license is not presented.
Colorado honors a valid foreign driver's license with an international driving permit. After becoming a resident of the State, you'll be required to convert to an Colorado license and pass the written exam and road skills test.
Before you head to the Colorado DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your driver's license:
On the Road
Once your licensing requirements have been met, you will receive your new:
- Restricted Driver's License (16 to 18 years of age) valid for 5 years.
- Full Driver's License (18 and older) valid for 5 years.
Remember... the safe operation of a vehicle requires practiced skill, knowledge, and a respectful understanding of the limitations imposed by the other drivers and the environment.