How to get a Vermont Learners Permit
- Vermont Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
VT Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your VT driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Vermont Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under Vermont drivers license guidelines, you must be at least 15 years old to apply for a Learners Permit. All applicants are required pass a written exam and a vision test in order to obtain the permit. You then must hold it for at least one year and log 40 hours of driving time (ten of which must be at night) before applying for a Junior Operator's License.
Prepare for the Written Test
The Vermont DMV requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Vermont practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Learners Permit
Before you head to the Vermont DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your learners permit:
- Identification and Proof of Age
- Proof of Social Security Number
- Proof of residence address
- Signature of a parent, step-parent, or other adult sponsor, or file proof of insurance under certain conditions
- Payment for application fee
On the Road
During the permit phase, the licensee must complete 40 hours of driving time during this phase, 10 of which should be for nighttime driving.
Before applying for a junior operator's license, the driver must be at least 16 years old. For the first 3 months, the licensee is not allowed to have any passengers, for the next 3 months, the licensee is not allowed to have any passengers except for family members.
In order to get a full operator's license in Vermont, the licensee must be at least 16 years and 6 months old.