How to get an Ohio Learners Permit
- Ohio Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
OH Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your OH driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Ohio Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under Ohio BMV guidelines, you must be 15 1/2 years old before you can apply for a learners permit. All applicants are required pass a written exam and vision test, plus enrolled in an approved driver education course in order to obtain the permit. You then must hold the learners permit for 6 months from the issue date and log 50 hours (including 10 at night) of driving time prior to applying for a driver license.
Prepare for the Written Test
The Ohio BMV requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Ohio practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Instruction Permit
Before you head to the Ohio drivers license office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your instruction permit:
- Identification and Proof of Age
- Proof of Social Security Number
- Proof of residence address
- A parent or legal guardian must co-sign the temporary permit application The parent or guardian must also present two verification documents of identification
- Payment for application fee
On the Road
During the permit phase, the licensee must complete 50 hours of driving time, 10 of which should be done at night to be eligible for a probationary license.
Before applying for a probationary license, the driver must be at least 16 years old. The nighttime restriction for a probationary license is not being allowed to drive between the hours of midnight to 6 AM for 16 year olds and 1 AM to 5 AM for 17 year olds. The licensee cannot have more than one passenger.
Nighttime driving restrictions are to be lifted when the licensee reaches the age of 18. Passenger restrictions are lifted at the age of 17 years old.