How to get a Montana Learners Permit
- Montana Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Test
- Required ID and Paperwork
MT Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your MT driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Montana Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under Montana DOJ guidelines, you must be:
- 14 1/2 years old to apply for Traffic Education Learner's License (TELL) only if they are in a state-approved traffic education program.
- 15 years old and successfully complete a state-approved traffic education program to apply for a learner's license
- 16 years old to apply for a Learner's License without completing a state-approved traffic education program.
All applicants are required pass a written exam and a vision test in order to obtain the permit. You then must hold the learners permit for 6 months and log 50 hours (10 at night) of supervised driving time prior to applying for a first-year restricted drivers license.
Prepare for the Written Test
The Montana DOJ requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Montana practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Instruction Permit
Before you head to the Montana DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your instruction permit:
- Identification and Proof of Age
- Proof of Social Security Number
- Proof of Montana residency
- Signature of parent on application
- Proof of authorized presence
On the Road
During the instruction permit phase, the licensee must complete 50 hours of supervised driving (10 for nighttime driving) to be eligible for Stage 2, which is the restricted license. The licensee must be at least 15 years old to qualify for a restricted license. The nighttime restriction for an intermediate driver's license is not being allowed to drive between the hours of 11 PM to 5 AM.
A driver with a permit must be supervised by a licensed parent or guardian, or a licensed driver age 18 years or older who is authorized by the parent or guardian.